Artists Training Program
The Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Artists Training Program is a national model for the professional development of young singers. Created by Artistic Director Emeritus John Moriarty in 1978, the rigorous 10-week program integrates daily opera training in diction, movement, stage combat, acting, stage technique, individual coaching and role study; and sessions in career management with rehearsals and opera performance opportunities in the summer's main stage and additional festival productions. 

The program, which selects 30-32 participants from nearly 1,000 applicants each year, has provided valuable voice training for many of America's most notable young opera professionals, including Denyce Graves, Alan Held, Cynthia Lawrence, Margaret Lattimore, Mary Mills, Emily Pulley, Greg Turay, Latonia Moore, Matthew Polenzani, Jesus Garcia, Chad Shelton, Daniel Belcher, and Celena Shafer. View the full list of past young artists. 

Applications for the 2014 Artists Training Program were due on October 20, 2013. 

Please download BOTH of the following documents:
2014 Artists Training Program Description (pdf)
2014 Artists Training Program Application (pdf)

Artists Training Program Details
Michael Ehrman
Director and Administrator, Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Artists Training Program
Michael Baitzer
Principal Coach, Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Artists Training Program
John Moriarty
Founder, Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Artists Training Program
As a component of the Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Artists Training Program, 13 awards were given to exemplary members at the 2013 Festival’s closing ceremonies on August 11. The young artists are selected based on criteria including the artistic quality of performances given during the Festival, a demonstration of a strong work ethic during training activities and career potential as a performing artist. Award recipients for 2013 are:

Leah Bobbey - Award in honor of Barbara Walton
Isaac Bray - McGlone (Guild) Award
Siena Forest  - Award in honor of Patsy Rose Musser
Nicholas Ward  - Award in honor of Milton D. Garwood
Jasmine Habersham - Richard and Judy Billings Award
Jonas Hacker - Dorsey Family Award
Jeffrey Gates - Studio Artist Award
Claire Shackleton - CCO Young Artist Award
Shea Owens - Apprentice Artist Award
Amy Owens - Iris Henwood Richards Award
Ian O'Brien - Award for Excellence
Kyle Lang - Adelaide Bishop Award
Aleksandra Romano - John and Ginny Starkey Award
Alexander Elliott - John Moriarty Award